What Have We Learned Today….


So what have we learned today? Let’s see…..

1) When running a time trial to measure your current pace per mile, do NOT start off running as if the bulls of Pamplona are about to gore you in your arse. (Oh yeah – that’s right – I just busted out a fancy English word for behind / butt / posterior). It’s a better strategy to start off a little slower than your goal pace, and then negative split the remainder of the run. Did I do that? NOPE. I took off like a bat out of hell, and then held on as long as I could. And then….the wheels came off. Wound up almost heaving at the end. God I am a moron.

2) Dick Traum is an awesome guy. Met him at Engineers Gate, where he was working out with Team Achilles. That’s the team he founded shortly after becoming the first man to finish the New York City Marathon with a prosthetic leg….in 1976, I believe. Now if THAT is not badass, I have no idea what is. He’s a real inspiration. Rock on, Dick.

3) On hot days, bring an extra shirt with you to practice. After 6-8 miles in 85 degree heat and high humidity, I look like I just jumped in a pool. Changing into a dry shirt makes me feel like a human being just long enough to get home and shower. Did I remember one today? NO. And how was my attitude during the walk home? Cranky.

And finally,

4) When swimming at 5am, never ever for any reason wear speedos. No no no. This is a pool in New York City / not the French Riviera. Creepy Speedo Dude hopped in to the lane next to me and proceeded to perform the most….distracting….laps I have ever seen. Note to swimmers out there: no one wants to see your your impression of the Trevi Fountain each time you turn your head to take a breath. This hombre was shooting water out of his mouth with each stroke that literally shot across 2 lanes. I almost called My religious consigliere Father Carmine so that we could perform an aquatic exorcism.

Tomorrow should be interesting. Along early morning bike ride, some weights during lunch and an evening run. I think I’ll change my middle name from Robert to Advil.

Leave a Reply

